Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Best University Teacher-Researcher Awards conferred at NUST- Dr. Usman Hasan
In recognition of their meritorious performance in teaching and research, the distinguished faculty members of National University of Sciences & Technology (NUST) were conferred Best Teacher and Best Researcher Awards at a ceremony held at the main campus on March 29, 2018. Lt Gen Naweed Zaman, HI, (M), (Retd), Rector NUST, conferred awards to the high-performing faculty. He also addressed at the occasion, and congratulated the award recipients. He commended NUST faculty for their role in carrying forward the legacy of excellence in teaching & research at NUST.

  • Best Teacher Award for the year 2015 was awarded to Dr Hammad Cheema, Head of Department at Research Institute for Microwave & Mililmeterwave Studies (RIMMS). Dr Hammad is a NUST graduate from College of EME. He did his PhD in Electrical Engineering from Einhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands with specialization in Analog and RF Integrated Circuit Design. He has over 40 journal and conference papers to his credit. Dr Hammad is the recipient of more than 10 national & international awards. He joined NUST School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science in 2010 and is currently at RIMMS. He has been maintaining a student feedback of 87 %.
Best Teacher Award for the year 2015 was awarded to Dr Hammad Cheema


  • Best Teacher Award for the year 2016 went to Dr Ammar Hasan, Assistant Professor at SEECS. Another NUST alumnus from College of EME, Dr Ammar did his PhD in Control Systems from Imperial College London in 2012. He has published his research work in some of the top journals in Electrical Engineering including IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control and IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics. He has been maintaining a student feedback of 85 % or above since his joining at NUST
Best Teacher Award for the year 2016 went to Dr Ammar Hasan


  • Best University Researcher Award for the year 2014 was bestowed upon Dr Noreen Sher Akbar, a faculty member at College of Electrical & Mechanical Engineering. She is a top young researcher in the field of Basic and Engineering Science. Her research areas include Newtonian and non-Newtonian fluids. She has active research collaboration with Professors of leading Universities of USA, Turkey, Tunisia and Germany. Since joining NUST, Dr. Noreen has been able to acquire over PKR 5 million in research grants and has the honor of publishing 270 research papers in very short span of her career as she has completed her PhD in 2012. She is the only PhD student who has published 87 ISI international highly reputed impact factor journals papers during her PhD. Dr. Noreen received two International awards from Elsevier International Journal “Communications in Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulation” for top cited articles of 2007-2011. In 2013 Pakistan Academy of Sciences selected Dr. Noreen as Young Associate of Pakistan Academy of Sciences. Recently in 2018, Dr. Noreen Sher Akbar has also been Raziuddin Gold Medal in Mathematics.
Best University Researcher Award for the year 2014 was bestowed upon Dr Noreen Sher Akbar

  • Best University Researcher Award for 2015 was awarded to Dr Osman Hasan, Assistant Professor at SEECS. Dr. Osman is an Assistant Professor at National University of Science and Technology (NUST), Islamabad, Pakistan. Since joining NUST, Dr. Hasan has been able to acquire over PKR 100 million in research grants and has published over 180 research papers in various reputable conferences and journals. He is currently collaborating with various academic institutes and research organizations of USA, Canada, Germany, Austria, Qatar and UAE. He has received several awards and distinctions, including the Pakistan’s Higher Education Commission’s Best University Teacher (2010), Best Young Researcher Award (2011) and the President’s gold medal for the best teacher of the University from NUST in 2015. Dr. Hasan is a senior member of IEEE, member of the ACM, Association for Automated Reasoning (AAR) and the Pakistan Engineering Council.
Best University Researcher Award for 2015 was awarded to Dr Osman Hasan, Assistant Professor at SEECS

  • Best University Researcher Award for 2016 was awarded to Dr Usman Qamar, an alumnus of College of EME and a faculty member at the same College. Dr Usman has over 15 years of experience in both academia and industry having spent nearly 10 years in the UK. In 2008/09, he was awarded PhD from University of Manchester, UK. His Post PhD work involved projects for Office of National Statistics London, UK, Vodafone, UK and University of Ghent, Belgium. At department of Computer and Software Engineering, College of Electrical & Mechanical Engineering, he has established Knowledge and Data Science Research Centre, a Centre of Excellence for Digital Research. He has received multiple research awards, including Best Researcher of Pakistan 2015/16 by Higher Education Commission (HEC), Pakistan in the category of Sciences and Engineering as well as gold in Research & Development category by Pakistan Software Houses Association (P@SHA) ICT Awards 2017. He is also recipient of the prestigious Charles Wallace Fellowship, visiting research fellow at Centre of Decision Research, University of Leeds, UK and scientific director of Data and Text Mining Lab, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK​
Best University Researcher Award for 2016 was awarded to Dr Usman Qamar

National University of Sciences and Technology H-12, Islamabad, Pakistan
© All rights reserved.