Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Course Description

Thrust Areas:

The main thrust areas in Physics are: Quantum Optics and Information, Relativity, Astrophysics, Cosmology, High Energy Physics and Nanoscience.


​MS coursework will be of 24 credit hours, followed by a thesis of 6 credit hours. The PhD program will consist of 18 credit hours of coursework and 30 credit thesis. The course outline and contents will be declared individually for each student to their chosen research areas as advised by their supervisors. There will also be seminar courses that must be cleared but which will carry no credits. These will be for attending the regular seminar series and for delivering seminars. Of the delivered seminars, one has to be in the thrust area but outside the research area, and another one outside the thrust area.

Comprehensive Examination:

The MS students will register for the thesis every semester after completing 24 credit hours of coursework and PhD students after passing the comprehensive examination. The comprehensive examination is based on core courses and on four of the elective subjects.

Important Courses:

Classical Mechanics, Methods of Mathematical Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Differential Equations, Electromagnetism, Thermal Physics, Advanced Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Theory, Geometry, General Relativity, Cosmology, Relativistic Astrophysics, Super-massive Black Holes, Particle Physics etc.

MS Thesis:

  • PHY-890 Thesis (6.0 credits)

PhD Thesis:

  • PhD Thesis PHY-990 Thesis (30.0 credits)
(All courses carry 3-credits unless mentioned otherwise).